How to Turn Off Link Sharing on Android | Google Photos

5 Likes Comment

In this post, we will show you how to turn off link sharing on Android devices. Here we will explain how to make sure that only a selected people can access your photos and videos. There is an option called link sharing in Google Photos, which lets you share your photos and videos to anyone you like. When you share a link to your album, anyone with the link to your photo album can view the content of the album and freely add new photos or videos. This means that you should keep link sharing off because once you disable it, nobody can access your album.

It is important that you keep your privacy on the internet and giving free access to people to view your photos and videos is not a good way to do it. Everyone is a part of social media in one form or another. But this does not mean that people can view others’ photos freely. When you share a link to your photo album, you give people access to your photos. What if your your link is forwarded to someone you don’t know? So it is better that you know how to turn off link sharing so that you can keep your photos and videos safe.

Turn off link sharing on Android

How to Turn Off Link Sharing on Android

So below in this guide, we have mentioned the steps to disable a link that is used to share an album on Google Photos. Apart from that, you can also disallow access for a particular person who still has your link to your album on Google Google photos. In addition to that, some users are also looking for a way by which they can only restrict access to a particular photo or video, because they do not want to make their entire album private. The steps for this task are also provided in the next sections of this guide. So we will look at these different guides one after the other.

ALSO READ: How to download photos from Google Photos

Turn off Link sharing on Android to any Album

The steps mentioned in this section are for when you have already shared a link to an album and now you want to turn off link sharing on Android to restrict access:

STEP 1: First of all, open up Google Photos.

STEP 2: Then on the right bottom corner of your screen, you will be able to see “Library”. Tap to open it.

STEP 3: You will see your albums here. Open the one which for which you want to disable link sharing.

STEP 4: Once done, click on the three dots icon appearing on the top right.

STEP 5: A menu will open from which, you will have to select Options.

STEP 6: After that, tap on Link Sharing.

STEP 7: Finally, tap on Delete link.

STEP 8: If you see the option “Make Private”, then this means that nobody else has access to your album. So tap on the option to make your album private.

Turn off Link Sharing for A Single Photo

These steps are for when you have already shared a photo and want to turn off link sharing on Android to stop sharing that single photo:

STEP 1: First, you have to tap on the Message button that you see on the left side of the upper panel in Google Photos.

STEP 2: Now select the image that you have already shared.

STEP 3: Once done, click on the three dots icon appearing on the top right.

STEP 4: A menu will open from which, you will have to select Options.

STEP 5: After that, tap on Link Sharing.

STEP 6: Finally, tap on Delete link.

How to Limit the Access of Certain people to any Google Photos Album

The below steps are for when you want to keep sharing your photo album but limit it’s access to only certain people:

STEP 1: First of all, open the Google Photos app.

STEP 2: Proceed to Library on the bottom right corner of your screen.

STEP 3: Open the album which you have already shared and want it’s access limited to only certain people.

STEP 4: Again, tap on the three dot icon appearing on the top right.

STEP 5: Then click on Options from the menu that appears.

STEP 6: Now look for the Members option and then tap on it.

STEP 7: The names appearing will be of those people who have already seen your album or have access to it.

STEP 8: Beside the name of each person, you will be able to see three dot icon.

STEP 9: Now tap on the icon and select the option Remove person. Then confirm your action.

STEP 10: You can repeat this action for any person that you do not want to have access to your album. With this, all the photos that they shared to your album or any comments they added will be removed.

Is it Possible to Share An Image or Album Without Having a Link?

Users also ask if there is a possible way in which they can directly share a photo or video with someone from their contacts without sharing them the link. Yes that is possible. You just need to select the photo that you want to share and then tap on the Share button. After that, you can send the photo to others directly as an email or you could just directly share the photo via a message on any instant messaging app and also write a message about the photo.

So that was it from our side on how to turn off link sharing on Android. We hope that you found this guide helpful. Let us know what you think in the comment section below.

You might like

About the Author: Uzair Hussain

Uzair Hussain is a dedicated writer who loves to read and research about android phones and technology. Has always enjoyed exploring further into tech and likes to share his knowledge through publishing writings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *